Home › Ruby vs PATLive

Ruby vs PATLive

Live virtual receptionist service (100% live, personalized communication) with optional AI enhancements, plus managed website chat. US-based live receptionist service that states it does not use AI to answer calls.

Disclosure: We may earn a commission if you sign up through some links on this site. This doesn't affect our rankings or what we say about a product, and it costs you nothing extra. 3 vendors' links are currently affiliate links (marked "affiliate link" and rel="sponsored"). Affiliate disclosure.

RubyPATLive
TypeLive humansLive humans
Starting price$250/mo for 50 receptionist minutes$49/mo pay-as-you-go ($2.99/min) or $99/mo for 50 minutes
Billingper minute (bundles)per minute (bundles)
Plans
  • 50 minutes: $250/mo
  • 100 minutes: $395/mo
  • 200 minutes: $720/mo
  • 500 minutes: $1,725/mo
  • Chat-only plans from $143/mo (10 chats); chat bundled with a receptionist plan from $115 (10 chats)
  • Pay as you go: $49/mo + $2.99/min
  • 50 min: $99/mo ($2.29/extra min)
  • 100 min: $189/mo
  • 200 min: $349/mo
  • 300 min: $479/mo
  • 500 min: $759/mo
  • Larger plans available
Free plan / trialNot stated on pricing page14-day free trial
ContractNot stated on pricing pageNo contracts
Key features
  • 24/7 live answering incl. nights, weekends, holidays
  • 24/7 Spanish and bilingual call handling available
  • Scheduling, intake & lead qualification
  • Payment collection
  • Outbound call assistance
  • HIPAA-compliant services available
  • Robocall filtering
  • 100% human, US-based receptionists
  • 24/7 incl. nights, weekends, holidays at no extra fee
  • Bilingual (Spanish) at no extra cost
  • Billed only for live time on calls
  • Free cloud phone system features
IntegrationsNot listed on pricing pageCRM and calendar integrations (not itemized on pricing page)
LanguagesEnglish; Spanish/bilingual availableEnglish & Spanish
Worth knowing
  • Billed by receptionist minutes; human service costs more per minute than AI-only tools.
  • Plus government taxes and fees.
Source (checked)https://www.ruby.com/pricing/(2026-10-17)https://www.patlive.com/pricing/(2026-10-17)

Consider Ruby if…

Businesses that want every caller to reach a live person and have budget for per-minute human answering.

Visit Ruby

Consider PATLive if…

Businesses whose callers must always reach a human.

Visit PATLive

We haven't run live call tests; this comparison only restates what each vendor publishes. No ratings.

FAQ

Which is cheaper, Ruby or PATLive?

Ruby starts at $250/mo for 50 receptionist minutes (per minute (bundles)); PATLive starts at $49/mo pay-as-you-go ($2.99/min) or $99/mo for 50 minutes (per minute (bundles)). Because they bill differently, the cheaper one depends on your call volume and call length.

Do Ruby and PATLive offer free trials?

Ruby: Not stated on pricing page. PATLive: 14-day free trial.

Who is each one for?

Ruby: Businesses that want every caller to reach a live person and have budget for per-minute human answering. PATLive: Businesses whose callers must always reach a human.